Hajr-e-Aswad – The Black Stone of Jannah

It was the time before Maghrib when I was performing twaf over the new circular Mataf bridge recently built around Kaaba. While circumambulating, me and my sister looked down upon Kaaba and saw how the security officers were helping women to give bossa (kiss) to Hajr-e-Aswad turn by turn.

Hajr-e-Aswad is a Black Stone mounted in silver, fixed in the eastern corner of Kaaba. This stone was brought to earth from paradise/Jannah by Angel Jibrail (AS) when Prophet Ibrahim (AS) and Prophet Ismail (AS) were building The Holy Kaaba. When it was first brought from paradise/Jannah it was whiter and brighter than snow and milk . Allah SWT has given the stone a special place as on the Day of Judgement the Hajr-e-Aswad will testify for everyone visiting it.

The Prophet (peace and blessings of Allah be on him) said:

“By Allah! On the Day of Qiyaamah, Allah will present the Hajr-e-Aswad in such a manner that it will have two eyes and a tongue to testify to the Imaan (faith) of all those who kissed it.” [Tirmidhi]

Over the years the stone has become black because it has sucked the sins of all the sinners visiting it. Kissing Hajr-e-Aswad is only voluntary and pilgrims do it because it is the Sunnah of our Prophet (PBUH). However, it is one of the most difficult things to do as Muslims crush and hurt each other while doing so.

Right before the Maghrib prayer safh of men are formed around the Kaaba for salah and and two separate queues of men and women are formed who are allowed to kiss Hajr-e-Aswad. Only the lucky ones get a chance to stand in that queue. While witnessing this scene, I just wished if I could get a chance to kiss Hajr-e-Aswad without hurting anyone and with utmost respect as that is how it should be done. Hurting anyone during this act is forbidden and is haram.

Few days before, I had made an attempt to go near Hajr-e-Aswad. I stood in the crowd for a long time but people kept on pushing me. The pushing and jostling got worse as I tried to get closer. Just when I felt suffocated I decided not to go further. It was impossible for me to go any way near it and I walked away. I used to look at it every day with admiration and a desire of how much I wanted to give bossa but all I could see was a crowd of men and women fighting and crushing each other.

It was my second last day in Makkah. I planned on performing a twaf before Maghrib prayer with my sister. I started my twaf and kept on looking towards Hajr-e-Aswad at the completion of every round. Just half an hour before Maghrib prayer the Shurtas (Kaaba’s local officers) were asking women to leave the area for salah and the safh of men began to form. All I could think of was that no matter what, today I will stand in that queue if Allah wills. As I ended my twaf I went close to Hajr-e-Aswad and saw that a queue was being formed. I asked my sister to follow me and requested men to give me some way and I finally stepped into that queue. This was something I had wished for every single day of my Umrah trip. I had heard from people that it was impossible and now Alhamdulillah I was just few inches away and I couldn’t thank my Allah enough. Some women started to push from the back but I just kept on praying to Allah for this one successful attempt and made sure not to push or hurt anyone. Now we were surrounded by the security guards and one of the Shurtas (Kaaba’s local officers) asked everyone to stay calm and assured that everyone will get a chance. Except my queue everybody else was being pushed back by the security guards and nobody was allowed to enter that area. I felt blessed and lucky as I stood amongst those people.

The security guards formed a circle around Hajr-e-Aswad for protection and the turns began. I could see the silver mounted area around Hajr-e-Aswad. My heart started to pound and I entwined my fingers as I got closer. As I braced my steps towards it going forth slowly, I knew this was it. I touched the blessed stone and kissed it. I was overcome with a rush of emotions. My entire body felt shaken. I put my hands to my lips and couldn’t believe what just happened. It all happened so quickly but it all felt so real. In that moment I raised my hands and was really grateful to Allah with all my heart. I shivered a little as I exited the area. I was so overwhelmed that I was unable to contain my emotions. Till this day when I think about it I realize that those few seconds made my entire life.

Image

One thought on “Hajr-e-Aswad – The Black Stone of Jannah

Leave a Reply

